Not a lie. This is my appeal paperwork. Every week I'm contacting insurance to appeal their denials. Every week my slowly healing wounds have to be reopened because I have to look back at the paperwork, I have to remember why I was taking this medication, I have to talk with people who have absolutely no empathy. No that's a lie... 2 weeks ago I finally reached someone who had sense, a supervisor who finally provided me with a case number and said that my case will now be monitored by supervisors. Last week I received a phone call from a nice lady updating me (with absolutely no new information, but it was still nice). This week I received yet another piece of paper stating that what I've provided in the past wasn't enough. Come on now... this is getting ridiculous:

Let me start from the beginning, if you don't recall, my medications were denied by insurance. Due to the medication being time sensitive, my husband and I figured out a way to pay for the medication. Then, I became angry. Angry at so much, but decided to take it out on insurance. Thanks to HR assistance, I was informed that indeed my medication should've been covered. Hence the appeals.
Appeal 1: fill out form with medication and dates. Done. Denied.
Appeal 2: Provide NDC numbers. Done. Denied.
Appeal 3: Why didn't you use an in-network pharmacy? Letter written. Not sure exactly what happened with that because...
Appeal 2.5: We didn't receive the fax with the NDC numbers. Refaxed. Denied.
Appeal 4: NDC numbers needed again with name of medication and dosage. Completed today.
6 weeks of jumping through ridiculous hoops. 6 weeks of wounds being reopened. I should be completing my first trimester. Instead I'm fighting insurance for an unsuccessful IVF round.
They now inform me how I can avoid this... but of course I'm not going through IVF again
(see previous blog). The kicker of all this is that there's not a number in claims. I have to go through people who don't have access to claims and they only find out the outcome. So frustrating.
(see previous blog). The kicker of all this is that there's not a number in claims. I have to go through people who don't have access to claims and they only find out the outcome. So frustrating.
Overall, my mental health is pretty good. I'm accepting and working through this. There are moments of days I'm down, but most days are just normal. This insurance stuff sucks.
I am grateful that the guy I talked to a couple weeks ago pushed everything through.
No comments:
Post a Comment