I'll say that week one starts on Saturday when I have my baseline blood draw and ultrasound completed.
Saturday: My lovely husband drove with me to the clinic. On weekends (and surgery days) our normal clinic is closed so we have to drive about an hour to the next one. Hubby was one of like 3 men in the waiting room. He's a good one. I was so nervous I was up at about 1am. I've been pretty on edge in general so a good night's sleep has alluded me for a while now. So we go to the clinic... wait a little while (I was one of the last times they take so I didn't have to wake up super early on a Saturday), and go back to get my stuff done. Quick and easy. The lab tech was super nice and calmed me down. I was pretty nervous still for some reason. They found a cyst, but didn't seem to think it was a big deal (I later got a phone call from the nurse confirming that).
A while ago, before all the stress, before all the money stuff... he wanted to take me to the beach this weekend. So we were still doing that (for one night only now). After the appointment we headed to the beach. I tried to relax and finally Sunday when we went to the boardwalk, to the sandy beach (though chilly) and saw the ocean, my stress finally dissipated enough to be able to breathe. We got home and I stayed that way. Still had issues sleeping, nervous about the shot, but slept pretty well, so all-in-all, I'm doing better.
Monday: First shot day! The first shot is Lupron microdose. It's just a vial and a needle. I have to align it to 20 ml. He was there for moral support. We got it done. I took off work today, so I was able to relax after the shot. Now I just need to get to my second shot of the day (again Lupron). My menses also started today so I'm kinda crampy and blech.
Tuesday: Shots again. I'm getting the hang of this. Only thing is that I've got the worst cramps I've ever had (or had for quite some time). I really don't want to go to work, but need to. They don't let up until after 1p. I simply felt awful all day and a headache started to develop in the evening.
Wednesday: Today I start 2 new shots- Follistim and Menopur. I'm on pretty high dosages. Unfortunately, I wake up at 1am with a tremendously bad headache (which lasts all day long). AM shots took over 20 minutes. We didn't realize the Follistim pen doesn't come with a cartridge in it (we practiced with Gonal-F which apparently comes started?) so we had to figure that out. We had to watch and rewatch a video explaining how to put it together (which I've already watched numerous times leading up to this week). But finally we were done.
PM is Menopur. I'm on 3 dang vials of this powder so we have to remember how to mix them all up and stuff. My husband reads the instructions while I do it. We make a decent team. This shot was hard to push! Definitely will need to get used to this.
This is draining. And this headache is literally awful.
Thursday: My headache seems much duller, but still hanging out. Shots didn't take too long this morning. Outside of that I can definitely feel something happening in my lower abdomen. Hopefully it's follicles developing and becoming healthy and supple and fertile. It's kinda like when you have gas and also like you've got to pee- when your stomach gets heavy. It's not that bad, but I definitely can feel something different down there. The headache came back in the afternoon. I tried pushing caffeine back and probably shouldn't have. I've also been drinking as much water as I can tolerate. My boobs are kinda starting to hurt though. Not sure if that's common.
Again, I'm feeling fatigued (starts in the afternoon). I'm not sure if it's lack of sleep catching up to me, the meds, or this dang headache (which is better than yesterday, but it's still annoying. I didn't take Tylenol today since it doesn't seem to help anyway). It cold also be the weird weather I suppose.
So, this is most of week one. Saturday night I'm doing my shots at a friend's house because we have a yoga thing to attend that ends during shot time. I could probably try to drive home, but I don't want to stress about that. Catch-22 of stress I guess.
No comments:
Post a Comment