Congress is arguing about birth control and the "experts" are priests and other male clergy (in the religious right, no less). When seriously, the MAJORITY of people use birth control... and the rest are what having 20 children before age 40 and televising it for entertainment. Right. This seems okay.
The conservatives in this country call the Affordable Care Act "ObamaCare" and basically say that it's a load of crap before they even read into it. (and if you read into it and disagree that it can't ACTUALLY HELP then please let me know exactly why) I feel that it's not comprehensive enough. Not even close. But I truly want to thank Congress for that. If FDR hadn't died... we'd have a totally different country. But I'm not going there right now.
I'm going to tell you a story and I hope the person who's story I'm telling doesn't mind. There was a car accident. A young boy (like 11 I think) was allowed to drive a pick-up truck in farmtown USA, on a 55 mph highway. This kid hit another car, severely hurting the driver. The driver of the car has had extensive surgeries, and recovery and now has taken out her entire retirement savings to pay off medical bills. They have insurance. Insurance in this country has serious issues. Have you tried navigating the insurance system? If not, it's a really fun time.
Well, so there you have it, an accident can cause you to go broke. A middle-class family. Not someone who's "living off the system."
So Congress, while you are having a conversation about whether women should have the privilege to obtain birth control. Look at yourselves and actually ask if this is actually a necessary argument. It's not. The US is screwed up enough when it comes to healthcare.
No comments:
Post a Comment