About Me

My photo
Social Worker, Writer, Volunteer, Reader, Friend, Daughter, Sister, Woman, Passionate, Compassionate, Social, Outgoing, Lives life, Yogini, Liberal, Music lover... all these things can describe me and more... I can either be put in a box or just be me. I am Robyn. Welcome to my hood :)

Monday, December 5, 2011

What I want for Christmas...

I was hanging out tonight with twin girls 3 yo and a 5 yo boy. We were talking about Christmas and what they wanted for Christmas came up. Eventually the boy asked me what I wanted for Christmas. I said "World Peace." He looked at me and stated "you can't get that for Christmas."

It's kind of sad that a 5 yo thinks that World Peace is not something that can happen... or maybe it's just that Santa can't bring it in his pack. I don't know, but either way, it's a wish that I feel that as a kid I would've been like, really, yeah, that'd be nice. (I also thought I was the African-American little girl on Sesame Street, like actually believed this for quite some time) This child though is a very specific child.  I thought about carrying on a conversation about the possibilities of World Peace but decided against that so I said...

"I want $100,000 for Christmas." Seriously, I have recently figured out that if I had $100,000 I'd be pretty well set. I'd be able to pay bills and buy a car and have a lot left over to relax and not stress about money. Okay, back to my story... The boy immediately stated "then you're gonna go to jail." I'm like "huh? Why do I have to go to jail for $100,000? Do you think I'd have to steal this money from a bank?" him: "Yeah, that's the only way you're going to get that money." Thanks dude... Me: "I don't think I'm going to steal the money." Him: "well, then you can't have the money." 3yo "you're going to ja---il (sing songy)" Me: "No, I'm not going to go to jail" 3 yo: "Yes, you are. You're going to jail." Me: "Fine. Will you visit me in jail?" Her: "No" Him: "no" Me: "Well then I'd miss you too badly so I guess I'm not going to jail." Somehow this satisfied them...


So I guess I'm not going to get any money for Christmas... or World Peace :(

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

some facts...

Here's some facts about me that I just want to tell y'all:

I very much dislike the following spices/herbs: oregano & possibly other "italian seasonings" and cilantro. When I taste these... yuck, let's just say. I don't mind cilantro if it's mixed into salsa or guac but if it's overpowering then I completely lose it. I'm  not the only one in my family that dislikes cilantro...

My friends have gotten me addicted to the drink Rum Chata. Okay maybe addicted is not quite the word I should use when discussing alcoholic beverages, but as a non-alcoholic I am addicted. It's SO SO SO yummy! Must try! It's what I imagine the drink in heaven would taste like. Sitting atop a cloud, getting a good buzz on. :) I'm bringing it home to introduce it to the family. Maybe I should make it official Rum Chata is my beau.

I love potato chips, or any type of snack- junk foods that I shouldn't eat- Doritos, Cheetos, potato chips, of many flavors. But I don't let myself by them to stock at home. Cuz I can't cut myself off well. Anyway, I've had a bag of potato chips and a bag of pretzels in my office for nearly a month that I can't touch. Today, more than ever, this is becoming quite a temptation.

I love music. I could not live without it. When people say what could I not live without I never think of music, but I always have music on. Way to work, at the gym, at work, on the way home, before bed, waking me up. My life would be very quiet without music. But I absolutely hate country music. There's some I can stand(ish) but I find a lot of the singing whiny. I'd rather not listen to people whining when I'm trying to relax.

I often have things to blog about but then I don't for whatever reason. This is going to change. Yup.
Okay, now since today is the day before Thanksgiving I will rattle off the things I'm grateful for:
a supportive and loving family, my friends, especially those who have been a lot of support and comfort in the last couple months, my unlimited belly dance classes (and I really should go to yoga and other classes), my yoga mat in the middle of my living room that reminds me to practice daily in some way, even if I don't actually do physical yoga it still reminds me to stop and breathe for a few minutes or to be mindful of something, and social media and my cell phone- without them I wouldn't be able to connect to many awesome people!

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Dear Politicians... yes all of you,

Okay I have something to say to the elected officials. First I'm going to start with the President. Oh, Mr. President. You need to be a leader. Yes, a leader. I'm not saying that you haven't been completely, but here's the situation broken down for you:


You need to lead as though you are teaching your constituents (ha, if I can call them that) as though they are potty training. Yes. Here's how it is. Change is coming. Regardless, it has to happen, it must happen, if not they will continue to pee on themselves. You're tired of this. You must teach them how to use big boy/girl pants. It's going to take time, there will be accidents, but they must take responsibility for themselves. Currently, when Bob pees his pants, he says that Joe peed his pants first, then when you say "Bob, you still need to go potty" Bob says "Peter did it." Thus taking no responsibility.

As someone leading them Mr. President, you must set down boundaries. Clearly, when Bob, Joe and Peter are blaming peeing on themselves on others, they are not ready to take full responsibility for their accident, accept it and learn from it. Mistakes are inevitable, and this is okay as long as they will accept it and learn from them. However, it doesn't appear they are ready for this. They want to remain in diapers.

So you need to start from the beginning and take it slow. This does not mean giving them the run of the house without any pants on and peeing everywhere. Which it feels (at least in my perspective) like you are doing. You have a long, hard road ahead of you. You need to take on a role of leadership rather than compromise and mediator. You don't compromise with toddlers about potty training! If they aren't ready for the responsibility, then they have to wear diapers until they are. To put it in political terms: If they aren't ready for the responsibility to compromise and learn from mistakes rather than finger point and blame others, they aren't ready to lead and YOU have to take the reign! Eventually, Bob, Peter and Joe will want to stop peeing on themselves and learn from their mistakes, but until that happens, you are the one responsible to change their diapers. In other words, you are taking their shit. Think about it.

Okay, to the rest of you (and Mr. President keep reading):

See above. Do you realize you are acting like this? You people are elected officials. You are not toddlers. You are freaking grown-ups. You (well, most of you) went to college, possibly graduate school and further. You probably went to preschool. Go back to those days of preschool and kindergarten: what did you learn? How to share. Play fair. Clean up your own mess. Say you're sorry. Don't hurt people.

The world is hurting. Let's look at the amount of poverty, hunger, homelessness we have in the world. Now look in your backyard. Do you see it? If not, look further. If you don't look and talk to someone and see what's happening- you're hurting us. And when you don't look you have no reason to take responsibility for these people (um, yeah your voters). Sure, you keep getting elected you say, so I must be doing something right. Yeah, raising enough money to keep other, more reasonable people from running against you. What would the US be like if it didn't take millions of dollars to run for office and a regular person could run? Guess what. There would be very few of you left. Most of us have learned how to wear big girl/boy pants.

I don't care what your politics are. Start taking responsibility. Stop blaming everyone else for your mistakes. Share, compromise and play fair. Listen. and listen some more. If you say you are already doing that, congrats. I would love to hear from you. If you aren't... well... when will you start? It's time to be adults. You are elected by us, I guess we at one point trusted you to run the country in a responsible way. Do you feel you are doing this?

You people are leaders. Freaking LEAD! Thanks!!!