So my summer consists of me babysitting/nannying/helping taking care of a family member's children... however you wanna put it. This was part of my day, which probably was about 10 minutes, but felt like time stood still. This story includes: 2 year old (A), the mommy (K), and dog (J).
Background: Mommy is spending the day building a shelf in the garage. I am making lunch. It's a crappy day outside so getting kids dressed is not on the top of the list. 2 year old decides he wants to see his mommy. I tell him he has to get dressed. He doesn't want to so I tell him he can get dressed or I will carry him to see where his mommy is. He says: carry me. I do. He now sees where his mommy is. I carry him back in the house, he says that he wants to stay outside, I remind him he needs clothes and shoes on. He stands by backdoor looking for his shoes (they are not there).
And scene: Lunch is ready. Realize I have not heard from A (2 year old) for a while (10 minutes maybe) and go look for him, first family room, not there. Then walked outside and again, he's not there. Uh-oh. I go back in the house (avoiding mom so she doesn't realize I may have lost one of her children) and yell for him, "A." "Yeah." Yay!!! "Where are you?" "upstairs" Huh. Okay.
I go to the stairs where he is coming down with one sock on, his pj top still on, and a pair of rubber boots in his hands. Okay, so he was listening about the whole getting dressed thing. "um, A, you only have one sock on." He gives me this know-it-all look and pulls out a pair of socks from one of his boots. Huh. Then he pulls out a pair of shorts. He gets himself dressed (for the most part). By the way, he totally got clothes that completely match, navy socks and shorts, red, white and navy shirt and navy and red boots... seriously. He can now go out to mommy. Except lunch is ready, but whatever. I decide that I will follow him so I can let K (mom) know that lunch is ready and to make sure that he doesn't get into anything (ie: power tools) on his way. He goes out the back door, the dog goes out the back door, I go out the back door. We walk into the garage through the garage's back door. K's not there. We walk to the front of the garage. I realize K must have gone in through the front door. I decide we'll go too.
At this point, I realize that the dog is now in the driveway, not in the nice fenced in backyard. The dog realizes this at the EXACT same time. Crap.
"J (dog), NO." J runs. She stops halfway up the driveway. I get the stern Alpha woman voice. I think the dog is coming back... A goes running after J. Crap. Dog now thinks this is a game. I start yelling at the dog. Then at A, "go get your mommy." I see dog at end of driveway, from past experience I know not to go after dog as I know dog will run. A is looking at me. "Go get your mommy or sister." He moves crazy slow (or so it seemed to me... he is only 2). I'm screaming for the dog, for the mom, for the sister, for A to get said mommy or sister. My heart is in my throat. My brain has stopped working, no flight or fright, just complete and utter FREAKING OUT! A is still climbing the front stairs (okay, I know his little legs can only go so fast). I'm wondering if I should go inside, but no then I won't be able to see the dog and I can see the dog at the end of the driveway... A starts crying, he tripped up the stairs (he's okay, don't worry). I am now torn: watch dog or help A. Mommy comes through the door. Hallelujah!!! A follows her, I'm praying he doesn't go into the road but I'm still in this stuck position and am scared to move and freak the dog out. I was still in sprinting distance if something happened. K gets dog. Lunch is ready. All is well. I think this could not have been more than 10 minutes (probably even closer to 5) but it was like time stopped. What did I learn from this: continue to be mindful of more than self.